When the blackbird sings

You tell me of bad weather news
And how the price of food went up.
You quote the words of politicians,
I agree they’re open lies.
You worry there will be a drought.
I think about the falling rivers
And how the willows give it shade.
My mind begins to drift.

I know my eyes are far away.
I try to hold on to your words
Like broken branches floating by.
I sense a sigh you’re holding in.
Yes,
I’m doing it again.
I smile and look in your eyes,
Signifying my return.

You speak about the greater issues,
How your life is troubling you.
I nod.
You know I understand.
It’s true that life is problematic.
It’s true I’m tired of being strong.
I wish to tightly grasp your hand
And take you through another door,
The door that’s slowly opening now,
That leads into another land.
I hear your words,
I hear a song,
That echoes in the depth of pools.

There’s only one place left to hide.
The leaves are growing up our walls,
There’s mud and ash across the floor.
The wind that’s blown the window wide
Brings a scent of woodland paths
And bluebells by the flowing stream.
I can hear the blackbird now,
It signals that it’s time to leave.
My heart is very far away.
I dream of other worlds.
I’ve seen.

2 thoughts on “When the blackbird sings

  1. Dear A. Gouedard,

    On behalf of the online literary journal KYSO Flash, I’m writing to ask your permission to republish one of your works (a haibun). Please forgive the public posting of this request — I was unable to locate an email address for you in order to write you privately. Please reply to KYSOWebmaster@gmail.com for details about our request. I hope to hear from you by mid-June. Thanks so much!

    –Clare MacQueen, Publisher and Webmaster

    Like

Leave a Reply

