Clock-tower Dance

The clock tower stands to mark the time
It’s stood so long, it’s lost its chime

Three-six-nine the goose drank wine
The monkey chewed tobacco on the street car line

Six girls lean against the rail
Time drags on, a slippery snail

Clap pat, clap pat, clap pat, clap slap
Slap your thighs and sing a little song

Swings in the park and a witches hat
These six girls, too old for that

My mama told me if I was goody
that she would buy me a rubber dolly

They look at the rings in the jewelery shop
And flirt with the boys but they don’t stop

My aunty told her I kissed a soldier
Now she won’t buy me a rubber dolly

Five girls here will stay in this town
And trade their lives for a wedding gown

The line broke the monkey got choked
and they all went to heaven in a little row boat

One is going to fly away
She’s waiting, waiting for that day

Take your partners hand, slap back
Clap pat, clap pat, clap pat, slap

Leave a Reply

