Meeting My Inner Child

in the midst of a storm of thunder

when hail stones fell from dark skies

a child came crawling to me

he came to me from his mother

sent into my protection

he was little more than a babe

 

i stopped and stooped to lift him

i looked into his soft little face

i saw bright eyes full of wonder

he seemed made of wonder and grace

i placed him onto my back

 

i told him to cling very tight

but he flung himself backward to earth

beyond where my hands could reach

i turned and raised him again

held him in tender embrace

 

i explained he had to be strong

for a journey

arduous

long

but we’d be safe

in the end

 

he smiled at me

like a friend

 

 

 

One thought on “Meeting My Inner Child

Leave a Reply

