The Clearing

oh how moods swing up and down
first a smile and now a frown
like the weather, changing ever
sun and showers across the town

all my life it’s been the same
a sadness comes I cannot name
it matters not how i strive
a balanced mind i cannot claim

my heart beats on despite it all
with every breath that lifts and falls
but when i look with inner eye
a woodland clearing always calls

the glory that lies underneath
is clear to me in every leaf
in gratitude i clear my sight
and come to find a tranquil peace

all is lovely, gentle, light
the darkest day becomes more bright
in a prayer of thankfulness
my mind lifts up in joyful flight

 

Leave a Reply

