Two Bare Feet

 

Along the sea margin

in the lapping of tides

I had visions of legs wrapped around necks,

thighs pressed taut against shoulders.

I heard the soft fall and lift of wet sand

as it sucked and released your bare feet.

You walked ahead, leaving imprints

amongst white pebbles and shells

 

We all know the profound aspects

of waves as they come and go

and I don’t need to use a poetic device

about footprints that wash away.

In that moment I knew I loved you

in a way I wouldn’t again

 

 

Leave a Reply

