Good Evening

Good evening

 

The day of death comes when it comes

that’s the sum and the wonder of it,

it teaches us how we should live.

 

If I find the wait for departure

too gruelling, or late,

I won’t stand about on that grey platform

in the cold, without a companion,

huddled up in a worn out old coat,

my collar turned up and shivering.

So tiresome!

 

When all is prepared, right and ready

I will die with delight

on a bright moonlit night,

clear stars filling the sky,

I will hold up my soul

to the moonlight above.

I will tell the world

how much I have loved it,

give thanks, state my intention.

strip off the old coat

and accept the warmth

that comes with the cold

in a garden at night

very old.

 

The rest will be history

written by others

if written at all

in a never ending story

Leave a Reply

